The Golden Gate National Parks

One of the largest and most popular urban national parks in the world, the Golden Gate National Parks were established in 1972, as part of efforts to make national parks more accessible to city dwellers and bring “parks to the people.” The parks’ 75,500 acres of land and water extend north from Fort Baker at the Golden Gate Bridge to Tomales Bay in Marin County and south to San Mateo County.

The parks contain many historical and cultural sites – among them, Alcatraz, Marin Headlands, Fort Mason, Muir Woods National Monument, Fort Point National Historic Site, and the Presidio of San Francisco. With 19 unique ecosystems in seven distinct watersheds, the parks preserve a wealth of natural treasures.

At the center sits Fort Baker, gateway to miles of coastal and inland trails and diverse recreational and cultural opportunities. Visitors to Fort Baker have access to neighboring organizations housed in the parks, including:

logoBay Area Discovery Museum
Headlands Center for the Arts
Headlands Institute
The Marine Mammal Center
Point Bonita YMCA
Hostelling International Marin Headlands
Golden Gate Raptor Observatory